Your Cart

$100 Off THIS WEEK ONLY!

Dog GPS Tracker Reviews

5 Best Dog GPS Trackers 2024—Approved By Vets & Pet Owners!

As a devoted dog owner, you know the joy of sharing life’s adventures with your four-legged companion. But what happens when your pet gets a bit too adventurous? Enter GPS dog trackers, your best friend’s best friend. These smart collars offer real-time tracking, activity monitoring, and even health alerts, ensuring your pup’s safety and peace of mind. In this article,  we will discuss the five best collar and pet tracker solutions on the market. So if you are looking to track your dog’s crazy, wild, barking furry butt, this is the dog tracking guide that will answer all your questions.

Tractive GPS Dog Tracker: #1 Amazon Seller For Tracking Cats And Dogs

Tractive

#1 Amazon Seller For Tracking Cats And Dogs

Tractive GPS Dog Tracker

  • Track Anywhere: See your dog's live location, near or far (subscription required).

  • Healthy & Happy: Monitor sleep, activity, and get health alerts (subscription included).

  • Fit & Fun: Track progress and compare activity levels with other dogs.

4/5

Tractive GPS Dog collar is the number one selling device among pet collars. Yup! In fact, the Tractive waterproof GPS has over 13,249 ratings with an average of 4 out of 5 stars on Amazon. That pretty much tells you that people love this tracker for dogs! This waterproof tracker offers real-time tracking with an unlimited range, perfect for those weekend wilderness romps. And our favorite part? This is one of the easiest devices to use when it comes to tracking pet locations!

Highlights:

  • Subscription Required: Plans start at $5/month, with a 30-day risk-free guarantee.
  • Real-Time Tracking: Follow your dog’s steps live on your phone, and review location history.
  • Virtual Fence: Set safe zones and get notified when your dog leaves or returns.
  • Activity Monitoring: Tracks active time, rest, and calories burned to help meet fitness goals.
  • Compact & Waterproof: Small, lightweight, and ready for any adventure, even swimming.
  • Global Tracking: Works in the USA, Canada, and 175+ other countries via the free Tractive GPS app.

PRODUCT

KEY FEATURES

SPECS

AMAZON RATING

Tractive
  • Real-Time GPS

  • Subscription-Based

  • Health Alerts

  • Activity & Wellness Tracking

  • Escape Notifications

  • No Distance Limit

  • Subscription from $5/month

  • SIM Card & Data Included

  • 30-Day Money-Back

  • Email & Phone Alerts

As of 4/03/2024

4.0 Stars | 26,912 Ratings 


Pros


Cons

  • Real-time tracking with no distance limits

  • Monitors activity and sleep patterns

  • Alerts for leaving virtual fence

  • Tracks rest and exercise

  • 30-day money-back guarantee

  • Requires subscription for operation

  • Monthly cost varies by plan

  • Virtual fence setup needed

  • Activity goals require manual setting

  • Competition feature may not suit all

Video: See how McCann Dog Training tested and reviewed this pet GPS!

Courtney R. Pierce

Positive Review

Amazon.com: Review Date: January 26, 2024

We adopted a deaf dog (Maya) and have a lab. We utilize an under-ground fence with our lab but needed a tracking device for Maya. After researching and talking with other folks who have tracking devices, we settled on Tractive, and I am so glad we did. We set up her parameter and get notifications from the app if she goes outside of it, if there are any issues, and when the battery needs to be charged. Also, the battery lasts a long time before needing to be charged. We have been 100% satisfied with this product.

Jennifer Hofstad

Negative Review

Amazon.com: Review Date: January 14, 2024

Be aware that you have to buy an annual subscription that is over $100 and pay up front. There is a 30-day return policy. I did not have time to mess with trying to get this to work at first because it was around Christmas and we were very busy. We did not have service in our area, so this tracker would not work. I could not get my annual subscription money back because it had been 34 days by the time I realized that I was not going to be able to get it to work. Thankfully, Amazon gave me a refund for the tracker itself.

FitBark 2 – Best Dog Activity Monitor

FitBark 2

Best Dog Activity Monitor

FitBark 2

  • Track All the Things: Activity, sleep, distance, calories, even health & behavior (24/7).

  • Charge Less, Play More: 6-month battery life lets you focus on fun, not recharging.

  • Catch Health Concerns Early: Monitor for potential illnesses based on movement & sleep data.

4.5/5

FitBark GPS 2nd is a state-of-the-art pet tracker, offering seamless switching between Verizon, AT&T, and T-Mobile 4G LTE-M networks. This ensures optimal coverage, independent of your smartphone’s provider! With support for multiple satellite constellations, including GPS, GLONASS, Galileo, SBAS, and QZSS, real-time tracking of your pet is made possible, whether you’re in urban or rural areas.

As light as it is durable, the FitBark weighs just 16 grams, making it suitable for dogs of all sizes. From Chihuahuas to Leonbergers, this pet tracker fits comfortably on collars up to 1.5″ wide. Additionally, the FitBark is fully waterproof and ready for any adventure your furry friend might embark on.

Highlights:

  • Monitor Your Pup’s Activities: Track sleep, distance, and calorie balance 24/7. Set breed, age, and weight-specific goals. Compatible with iOS 12+ or Android 6+.
  • Long-lasting Battery Life: Enjoy up to six months of battery life. Lightweight at 10g, it fits most 1.5” wide collars.
  • Health Monitoring: Detect early signs of discomfort or disease. Monitor mobility, anxiety, and skin conditions. Invite your vet to review FitBark data.
  • Integration with Fitness Apps: Sync with Fitbit, Apple Watch, HealthKit, or Google Fit. Compare your stats with your dog’s. Build healthy habits together.
  • Scientifically Trusted: Over 100 vet schools and research institutions trust FitBark. Join users from 140+ countries advocating for better dog parenting

PRODUCT

KEY FEATURES

SPECS

AMAZON RATING

FitBark 2
  • Activity Monitoring

  • Exceptional Battery Life

  • Health Tracking

  • Motivation Integration

  • Scientifically Trusted

  • Up to 6 Months Battery

  • Waterproof & Rugged

  • For All Dog Sizes

  • iOS 12+/Android 6+ Required

  • Fits Collars up to 1.5

As of 4/03/2024

4.3 Stars | 1,060 Ratings 


Pros


Cons

  • Tracks activity, sleep, and health 24/7

  • Battery lasts up to 6 months

  • Lightweight, fits any collar up to 1.5" wide

  • Waterproof and rugged design

  • Monitors early signs of health issues

  • Requires iOS 12+ or Android 6+

  • Subscription might be needed for full features

  • Multiple dogs require app setup

  • Health data sharing requires vet/trainer app access

  • Advanced features need wearable device integration

Angela Molina

Positive Review

Amazon.com: Review Date: December 12, 2023

I’m doing a review now because I’ve had it for exactly 6 months. It's been super helpful in keeping my dog on track with her exercises, as I have a Siberian husky puppy. So I know if she needs more active time, and I love the goals they have for her too. It really pushes me as an owner to make sure she is fully getting the exercise she actually needs and what I think she needs. A flaw that I don’t like are the zip ties because my dog plays a lot at the dog park, and they tend to break it off. Luckily, it’s never fallen off her collar; only one strap breaks, and they do come with replacement zip ties, but I’m worried that I’ll run out and am not sure if I can purchase more. The battery life did last for 6 months, which is nice and lets me know when it needs to be charged. Overall, I really like this product, and my dog is definitely thankful as it helps her reach her goal as a puppy and causes less stress at home.

McPauly

Negative Review

Amazon.com: Review Date: August 23, 2022

Update 4 months later: Poor product and horrible customer service! They just want to sell your data. The FitBark broke after four months. I could not get the item replaced and finally gave up after several tries. They give you the runaround. I imagine this company will be out of business in no time at all. Great idea, terrifyingly horrible execution.

Whistle Switch: Best For Health And Location Tracking

Whistle Switch

Best For Health And Location Tracking

Whistle Switch

  • Vet Experts On-Call: Free access to live vet chat, calls, & videos via VETINSIGHT.

  • Early Health Warnings: Monitor for skin, joint, stress issues through behavior changes.

  • Track Eating & Drinking: Detect potential diabetes, UTI, and oral health problems.

4/5

Whistle Switch offers a fun twist on the GPS tracking collar. This dog GPS tracker offers more than location data- it’s also a fitness tracker for your dog! Monitor your pet’s activity levels, health, and location, all in one handy collar series. Just remember, like the Tractive, there’s a monthly subscription.

Key Features

  • GPS Smart Location Tracking: With the ability to set up alerts, locating your pet, whether they’re nearby or 3,000 miles away, has never been easier. Using the AT&T nationwide network and Google Maps, this tracker and collar combo offers 15-second location updates, ensuring your pet’s safety.
  • Comprehensive Health, Nutrition, & Activity Tracking: This smart tag monitors activity levels, calories burned, and distance traveled, along with behaviors like licking and scratching. This valuable information can help detect potential health issues. Recommendations on food portions, based on activity levels, breed, age, and weight, are also provided.
  • Extended Battery Life & Night Light: With up to 20 days of battery life on a single charge, this tracker ensures constant monitoring. The built-in night light, with three adjustable settings, ensures visibility in the dark.
  • Vet Chat Feature: With the Whistle subscription, you gain access to on-demand veterinary help via chat, phone, or email. Powered by the VETINSIGHT team, expert advice and guidance are available from the comfort of your home.

PRODUCT

KEY FEATURES

SPECS

AMAZON RATING

Whistle Switch GPS
  • GPS Location Tracking

  • Health & Activity Monitoring

  • Extended Battery Life

  • Night Light

  • Vet Chat Feature

  • 20 Days Battery Life

  • AT&T Network & Google Maps

  • Monthly Subscription Required

  • Up to 3,000 Miles Range

  • Adjustable Light Settings

As of 4/03/2024

3.8 Stars | 3,748 Ratings


Pros


Cons

  • Real-time GPS tracking of your pet

  • Monitors pet health and activity

  • Live tracking via smartphone app

  • Includes collars and attachments for any size pet

  • 1-year warranty with customer support

  • May require continuous data plan subscription

  • Battery life varies with tracking frequency

  • Smartphone app needed for live tracking

  • Limited to areas with cellular coverage

  • Initial setup may take time

Positive Review

Heidi

Amazon.com: Review Date: June 19, 2023

I waited a few weeks before revising because we have had similar GPS devices. that have failed. We live in a country with limited cell and internet service. We had low expectations! The whistle has performed better than anything we imagined. We have an active Malinois that occasionally likes to roam the countryside! We love the accurate alerts and long battery life. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!

Kevin Pentz

Negative Review

Amazon.com: Review Date: November 5, 2023

I purchased this almost 3 years ago, and it stopped working 1 year ago. We reached out to customer service, and it has been horrible. Their answer was that we needed to get a proprietary cable to do a "reset." We wait for the cable, get it, and do the reset. No joy. It still doesn’t work, and if you pay the annual subscription, they will not cancel it for another year. I just wanted a new device to replace the faulty one, but there is no willingness to help. So now we have to switch to a different company and still continue to pay for a service we have not been able to use. Buyer beware!!!

Apple AirTag: Best BlueTooth Pet GPS Tracker

Airtag Dog

Best BlueTooth Pet GPS Tracker

Apple AirTag

  • Secure Hold: Keeps AirTag snug on any collar (0.8-1in) without worry.

  • No Damage: Covers AirTag from scratches and protects pets from bites.

  • Easy Swap: Attaches & detaches smoothly to existing collar, no change needed.

4.5/5

Apple’s AirTag is a solid choice if you are looking for a smart tracker for your dog, cat or other pet. Simply pop your AirTag into a collar-friendly AirTag holder and BOOM – you now have a reliable dog tracker! While it doesn’t offer real-time tracking, it leverages Apple’s expansive ‘Find My’ network to help locate your pooch. This makes it a better choice over other Bluetooth tracking devices such as the Tile Pro.

Apple AirTags are also excellent for urban environments with many Apple devices around. Lost your dog? Not to worry. With Lost Mode enabled, your AirTag taps into the network of nearly a billion Apple devices. When any of these devices come close to your lost pet, you’ll receive a notification with the AirTag’s location. This vast, crowdsourced network can be invaluable for tracking your pets in busy urban areas.

Highlights:

  • Design: Compact and lightweight, easy to attach to a GPS tracking collar with an AirTag holder.
  • Precision Finding: Uses Ultra-Wideband technology to guide you to your dog’s location when nearby, if you’re using an iPhone 11 or later.
  • Proximity Alerts: Notify you if your dog strays too far from your Apple device.
  • Lost Mode: If your dog gets lost, you can put the AirTag in Lost Mode. When another Apple device comes close, it will alert the user and provide your contact information.
  • Long-Lasting Battery: The Apple AirTag comes with a replaceable battery that lasts over a year, so you can keep tracking your pet long-term.
  • Privacy and Security: Your location data and history are never stored on the AirTag, ensuring your information stays private.
  • Water and Dust Resistant: The AirTag has an IP67 rating, which means it can resist water and dust to a certain degree, perfect for outdoor adventures with your pup.
  • Network Support: Utilizes the vast network of nearly a billion Apple devices to help locate your lost dog.

PRODUCT

KEY FEATURES

SPECS

AMAZON RATING

Airtag Dog
  • Secure Airtag Attachment

  • Easy Installation

  • Precisely Designed

  • Durable & Comfortable

  • Lifetime Customer Service

  • Fits 0.8-1in Collars

  • Eco-Friendly Silicone

  • Sweat-Proof & Scratch-Resistant

  • Includes 2 Holders

  • Airtag Not Included

As of 04/03/2024 

4.5 Stars | 6,711 Ratings


Pros


Cons

  • Securely attaches AirTag to pet collars

  • Compatible with 0.8-1in collar widths

  • Designed specifically for Apple AirTags

  • Made of durable, eco-friendly silicone

  • Sweat-proof, scratch-resistant, washable

  • AirTags not included

  • Only fits collars 0.8-1in wide

  • No GPS functionality without AirTag

  • Requires Apple device for AirTag setup

  • Customer service limited to product replacement or refund

Positive Review

Lisa Sinke

Amazon.com: Review Date: January 31, 2024

These AirTag holders attach easily to dog collars. My dogs have worn them for a couple of months now, and I’ve had no issues with them coming loose. I feel better knowing I could locate the dogs if they went missing. This was a small price to pay for that security.

Colleen B.

Negative Review

Amazon.com: Review Date: December 1, 2023

I only had this item for a few days with my Apple AirTag for my dog. I went out for a simple walk, and it completely fell out of this holder for the leash. Piece of crap. Buy it if you don’t mind losing your very expensive Apple AirTag. I couldn't locate it by tracking either.

Jiobit Smart Tag: Best Small Dog GPS Tracker

Jiobit Smart Tag

Best Small Dog GPS Tracker

Jiobit Smart Tag

  • Compact, durable, with long-lasting battery.

  • Real-time GPS tracking, unlimited range.

  • Unmatched security and privacy protection.

4/5

The Jiobit dog GPS tracker is a compact, durable device designed to track pets with unparalleled precision. This device, notable for its small size and robust battery, attaches seamlessly to pet collars, clothing, or backpacks, making it an excellent choice for dog owners concerned about their pet’s location. Utilizing advanced beacon technology that combines GPS, Wi-Fi, and Bluetooth, the Jiobit provides real-time location sharing across a limitless nationwide range. This ensures dog owners can monitor their pets’ whereabouts with great accuracy and long-lasting battery life, even when the pets are far from home.

For dog owners prioritizing safety and security, the Jiobit tracker offers powerful smart alerts and location history. You can create custom safe zones and receive alerts whenever your dog enters or leaves these areas. This feature also provides a timeline of unexpected movements. Uniquely, the Jiobit TrustChip ensures superior security and privacy, safeguarding your pet’s data with COPPA-compliant encryption.

Unlike simpler Bluetooth tags like the Tile Mate, which suit short-range tracking, Jiobit’s real-time GPS tracking excels over vast distances. The device requires a subscription for full functionality, offering monthly and annual plans without additional cellular services. It is compatible with both Android and Apple devices. Additionally, the Jiobit tracker comes with a 1-year warranty, providing extra peace of mind.

Highlights:

  • Small, lightweight, and durable for easy attachment
  • Advanced beacon technology for accurate, real-time GPS tracking
  • Unlimited nationwide range
  • Custom smart alerts and detailed location history
  • Jiobit TrustChip for enhanced security and privacy
  • Subscription plan required; available monthly or annually
  • Compatible with Android and Apple devices
  • 1-year manufacturer warranty

PRODUCT

KEY FEATURES

SPECS

AMAZON RATING

Jiobit
  • Geofencing Alerts

  • SOS Button

  • Two-Way Voice Calls

  • Water-Resistant

  • Smartphone Compatibility

  • Battery Life: Up to 7 days

  • Water Resistance: Yes

  • Compatibility: Android & iOS

  • Special Needs: Ideal for Autism

  • Tracking: Accurate & Real-time

As of 4/03/2024

4.0 Stars | 2,464 Ratings


Pros


Cons

  • Small, lightweight, durable design

  • Real-time GPS with unlimited range

  • Custom smart alerts and location history

  • Advanced security with Jiobit TrustChip

  • 1-year warranty included

  • Subscription required for functionality

  • Monthly or annual payment options

  • Initial setup via app necessary

  • Designed for sensitivity issues, not rugged use

  • Limited to areas with cellular and Wi-Fi coverage

Positive Review

ALH

Amazon.com: Review Date: March 11, 2023

I purchased the Jiobit for my cat to wear since he likes to escape and wonder. It has worked great. My only complaint is the battery life, and you can't locate him or the Jiobit if it is within 100 feet of the safe space. So, he could be outside, but still within 100 feet, and we may not know where he is. Otherwise, I have had no issues and have learned his patterns of trips he takes when he is outside. It's small, and it doesn't seem to bother him with his collar. I had problems in the past with air tags coming off his collar while he was outside and getting lost; hopefully that doesn't happen with this.

Negative Review

Karen H.

Amazon.com: Review Date: April 29, 2023

The tracker worked for approximately 5 days, showing me my cat was taking virtually the same route every day—not exactly, but close. On or about the 6th day, I watched my cat leave the "home area" wearing the tracker. The tracker app map showing my cat's route never moved from the home area. I watched my cat return home without her collar and tracker. What good is a tracker that doesn't track? Now they won't return my money ($100) because I can't return the "defective" device because it's lost. Ironic and very profitable, huh? Oh, other than that, it's fabulous. It's incredibly accurate, as witnessed by my neighbor, and the app continued to show that the battery was still working and that the device was still "tracking" for about 2 and 1/2 weeks after it was lost. Tech support told me there was no way to disconnect the tag from the "home area" until the battery ran out. The problem with that is that you have to have the device to reset a home area. If they fix that one little glitch, it would be amazing as a tracker. I still think it's funny, except I wasted $100. 

dog gps tracker

What Is A Dog GPS Tracking Collar – An Explanation For Pet Owners

A dog GPS tracking collar is a device that lets you monitor your pet’s location in real time. Imagine you’re at work, and your playful pooch decides to wander off. This high-tech collar sends precise location data to your smartphone or computer, providing peace of mind. The technology uses global positioning systems (GPS) to track your dog’s movements, so even if Spike loves to explore, you’ll always know where he is. With varying features like safe zone settings and movement alerts, these collars offer additional layers of security.

Related Article: Best Kids GPS Tracker For Parents

Key Features Dog Owners Should Consider Before Buying A Pet GPS Tracker

Choosing a dog GPS tracker can feel overwhelming. However, focusing on key features can make the task less daunting. Here are some essential aspects that dog owners should consider:

  • Real-Time Tracking: The truth is, you want a GPS dog tracker that provides live tracking. Why? because this is a critical feature that allows you to see your pet’s location in real-time, easing your worries if your dog roams.
  • Safe Zones: A GPS tracker with a ‘safe zone‘ feature allows you to set boundaries for your pet. If your dog crosses these boundaries, the tracker sends an escape alert, allowing you to intervene promptly.
  • Water Resistance: Dogs love to splash and play. A water-resistant or waterproof GPS tracker won’t fail during your pet’s aquatic adventures.
  • Replaceable Battery: A tracker with a replaceable battery ensures longevity. Look for trackers with long battery life, like the Fi series, to minimize battery changes.
  • Subscription Fee: Some personal GPS locators, like the Petfon pet GPS tracker, require a monthly fee. Our advice, is simply to ask about any ongoing costs before you purchase any GPS dog collars..
  • LED Light: A GPS collar with an LED light can enhance visibility, particularly for those late-night walks.
  • Activity Tracker: A tracker that doubles as an activity monitor, like the Fi smart dog collar, can track your dog’s health and activity levels.
  • Compatibility with Cats and Dogs: If you have a mixed pet household, a tracker that works with both cats and dogs, like the Tractive GPS pet tracker, is a smart choice.
  • Durability: Given dogs’ active nature, a durable collar and pet tracker, like the Link AKC, can withstand the rough and tumble of doggy life.

Remember, the best tracker for your dog depends on your specific needs and your dog’s lifestyle. For example, do you take your dog hunting? Is your dog older and gets lost easily? If so, consider each feature carefully, and find the perfect locator GPS tracker for you and your furry friend!

Protect Your Pet – What The Experts Say

Dr. Sophia Yin’s Advice on Dog Collars and Pet ID Tags

Operating out of Davis, California, renowned animal behaviorist Dr. Sophia Yin firmly believes in the significance of dog collars and pet ID tags. She advises, “Attach an ID tag to your pet’s collar. It’s their primary safety net. If they’re lost, it offers immediate identification to those who find them.

Dr. Liz Bales’ Advice on Behavioral Training

In Philadelphia, Dr. Liz Bales, a certified cat behaviorist and founder of Doc & Phoebe’s Cat Co., recommends behavioral training for pets. She says, “Training isn’t just for dogs. Cats can also be trained to respond to calls and commands, increasing their safety, especially in outdoor environments.

Dr. Gary Richter’s Tips on Nutrition and Exercise

Based in Oakland, California, Dr. Gary Richter, a renowned veterinarian and author of “The Ultimate Pet Health Guide“, stresses the importance of balanced nutrition and regular exercise for pets. In a 2023 interview with Pet Health Network, he said, “A well-balanced diet and regular exercise contribute significantly to your pet’s overall health and longevity. It’s essential for their physical well-being and mental stimulation.”

Dog GPS Tracker – Frequently Asked Questions

Yes, you can! An Apple AirTag, when placed in an AirTag holder, can be attached to dog collars, effectively turning it into a pets tracker. However, while it can help locate your pet, it doesn’t offer real-time tracking. But, with an Apple device, it can be a more cost-effective alternative to costly dog tracking collars.

Yes, they can! Many GPS pet trackers are versatile enough for both cats and dogs. The key is to ensure the collar attached is the correct size for your pet. From the petite AirTag dog collar to the more robust Fi collars, there’s a GPS tracker for every type of dog and cat.

No, not all of them. Some dog trackers, like the Findster Duo, offer GPS tracking services without a monthly subscription. However, others, such as the Whistle Switch or Tractive GPS Dog, require a subscription for full access to all their smart features.

Definitely! Many GPS collars for dogs now come with health monitoring features. The Link AKC and Fi Smart Dog Collars, for instance, track your pet’s activity levels, and sleep patterns, and can even provide early warnings for potential health issues. It’s like having a fitness tracker for your pet!

GPS tracking systems, like the Tractive GPS Pet Tracker, typically have an unlimited range, as they rely on satellite signals. Bluetooth trackers, on the other hand, like the Tile Mate, have a limited range. Remember, the effectiveness of tracking your pets depends on the GPS signal strength in your area.

No worries there! Many dog GPS trackers are water-resistant. Brands like Tractive GPS Dog and Whistle Go Explore offer waterproof trackers. So, whether your furry friend loves to swim or simply gets caught in the rain, these devices can handle it.

Matthew Henson
Latest posts by Matthew Henson (see all)
Free Shipping

On All Orders This Week Only

Free Technical Support

Get Help 7 Days A Week

100% Secure Checkout

PayPal / MasterCard / Visa

CALL US TODAY!